The European Society for Applied Superconductivity (ESAS) seeks nominations for the ESAS AWARD 2017, which will be awarded at the European Conference on Applied Superconductivity (EUCAS) 2017 in Geneva, subject to the nomination of an appropriate candidate, to an individual without age restriction to “recognise excellence in advancing the knowledge of applied superconductivity over the past five years”. The award will be presented to the award winner during EUCAS 2017 in Geneva.

The inaugural 2015 prize was awarded to Dr Wilfried Goldacker of KIT.


Nominations may be made by anyone working in the field of applied superconductivity. The principal nomination should consist of a (one to two page) letter addressed to the Award Committee Chairman and contain a comprehensive description of the candidate’s sustained and significant contributions to the field of applied superconductivity and technology. A CV and a publication list of the candidate should be attached, together with the candidate´s detailed contact information.

The principal nomination letter will address in detail:

  • The quality of the candidate’s research performed over the past five years
  • The international recognition gained for the candidate’s work over the past five years
  • The candidate’s impact on the field over the past five years

Specific indicators of excellence and suitability for the award include, but are not limited to:

  • The first time application of a new experimental or theoretical technique
  • Demonstration of key fundamental insight that impacts multiple levels of the application of any material form of superconductor
  • Synthesis or fabrication of a new material, or development of a new synthesis or fabrication process;
  • The development of novel, innovative concepts and new devices that utilizes superconductivity or superconducting technology
  • The authorship or co-authorship of well-cited publications of major significance in peer-reviewed technical or scientific journals

Two further letters of support, in addition to the principal nomination, will also be required to qualify the candidate for the selection procedure. The principal nominator will be responsible for obtaining the additional letters of support. The candidate must be active in the field of applied superconductivity. In addition to the wider applied superconductivity community ESAS Board members who are not part of the prize committee are permitted, and indeed encouraged, to make nominations on the same basis as non-board members.

Selection Procedures

The nominations will be evaluated by the Awards Committee, which will consist of six members of the ESAS Board, including the Chairman, of which two members will be chosen to represent the EUCAS theme areas of Materials, Electronics and Large Scale Applications. Each member will rank the candidates (1st choice, 2nd choice, etc.) and communicate his/her ranking to the Committee Chairman. The result of this procedure will be discussed among the Committee members and communicated to the Board, whose endorsement of the selection (majority of Board members) is required. For the avoidance of doubt, current members of the ESAS board are not eligible for the award.

The Award

The award consists of:

  • A certificate signed by the ESAS President
  • A check for €5,000
  • A plaque
  • An invitation to the award winner to attend EUCAS (travel expenses and accommodation, up to €1,000), and waived conference fees for the conference
  • An invitation to give a plenary presentation at the conference at which the award is made


Completed nominations must be submitted by Wednesday, May 31, 2017 to:

Prof. Herbert Freyhardt

Chairman of the ESAS award selection committee, which presently consists of Herbert Freyhardt and David Cardwell for Materials, Lucio Rossi and Marcel ter Brake for Large Scale, Paul Seidel and Pascal Febvre for Electronics.

Further Details

For further details contact Herbert Freyhardt at
Tel. +49-(0)551-309 7223
Fax +49-(0)551-309 7225
Tel. +49-(0)551-79 15 79
Fax +49-(0)551-79 54 21