Prof. Giampiero Pepe


Giovanni Piero Pepe is Full professor for Experimental Physics and Nanomaterials for Electronics and Energetics at the University of Napoli Federico II, while from 2011 to 2019 he has been Deputy Director of the Naples Unit of the Institute for Superconducting, Innovative Materials and Devices (SPIN), National Council of Research (CNR), Italy. GPP has more than 25 years experience in superconducting electronics covering mainly topics regarding Josephson effects and tunneling in superconducting devices, unconventional superconducting devices for quantum applications, advanced superconducting detectors and non-equilibrium superconductivity, cryogenics, and material science at low temperatures. During the last years GPP and his group were involved in a number of national and European projects concentrating on the development of superconducting (nano)devices for quantum communications. He has authored more than 160 papers in peer-reviewed journals. He worked in advisory boards of international conferences and workshops like ASC, ISEC, EUCAS, ICSM. From 2019 he is Chair of the European Society of Applied Superconductivity, and chairman and organizer of ISEC 2017 Conference in Sorrento, of WOLTE13 2018 Conference in Sorrento, and of WOLTE14 to be held in Matera, Italy. He was Chair of ESAS International Summer School on “New Trends with Superconducting Quantum Detectors” (Genova, 2013), of the Winter ESAS School on “Novel frontiers in superconducting electronics: from fundamental concepts and advanced materials towards future applications” (Naples, 2016), and co-chair of the National CNR Workshop on Single Photon Devices: the Italian perspectives (Roma, 2016). From 2019 he is Senior IEEE Member.

Prof. David Cardwell FREng


David Cardwell is Professor of Superconducting Engineering and Pro-Vice-Chancellor responsible for Strategy and Planning at the University of Cambridge. He was Head of the Engineering Department between 2014 and 2018. Prof. Cardwell, who established the Bulk Superconductor research group at Cambridge in 1992, has a world-wide reputation on the processing and applications of bulk high temperature superconductors. He was a founder member of the European Society for Applied Superconductivity (ESAS) in 1998 and has served as a Board member and Treasurer of the Society for the past 12 years. He is an active board member of three international journals, including Superconductor Science and Technology, and has authored over 370 technical papers and patents in the field of bulk superconductivity since 1987. He has given invited presentations at over 70 international conferences and collaborates widely around the world with academic institutes and industry. Prof. Cardwell was elected to a Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2012 in recognition of his contribution to the development of superconducting materials for engineering applications. He is currently a Distinguished Visiting Professor at the University of Hong Kong. He was awarded a Sc.D. by the University of Cambridge in 2014 and an honorary D.Sc. by the University of Warwick in 2015.

Dr. Luca Bottura


Luca Bottura has trained as a Nuclear Engineer at the Engineering Faculty of the University of Bologna (Italy), and was awarded a PhD from the University College of Swansea (Wales, UK) for the physical modeling, scaling and numerical analysis of quench in large-scale, force-flow cooled superconducting coils. After nine years of experience in the design and testing of superconducting cables and magnets for fusion (NET and ITER), he joined CERN in 1995, where he organized and supervised field mapping activities for the LHC magnets during prototyping and cryogenic series tests. The large amount of data was consolidated in the Field Description for the LHC (FiDeL), now an embedded system of the LHC controls. In July 2008 he took responsibility for superconductors (materials, cables, devices) at CERN, and initiated the conductor specification and procurement of Nb3Sn for the CERN High-Field Magnet program, the initial step of the procurement of HEP-grade Nb3Sn for HL-LHC. As of July 2011, he leads the Magnets Superconductors and Cryostats Group in the CERN Technology Department (CERN TE-MSC), in charge of superconducting, resistive and permanent magnets for the CERN accelerator complex, the associated manufacturing and test technologies, and the cryogenic test installations.